Facebook Page

Click here now.

YouTube Channel

Click here now.

Send us a Mail

Click here now.


Announcing the winners of the Free State Department of Education Technical Schools Competition Provincial Finals

The future’s bright for the Grade 10 and 11 learners who did themselves proud in this challenging competition. See who won...

Last month, we reported on the technical Skills Specialisation Competition (Welding and Metalwork), which was hosted by Wimpie Ludewyk – Manager: vocation schools for technical and agricultural schools Free State.

MIWA has long supported the event and were pleased to have a chance to get actively involved when MIWA regional representative for the Free State and Northern Cape, Reemo Swartz, was selected to judge the automotive component. Eighty-two grade 10 and 11 learners took part in the contest and were judged on skills such as removing spark plugs, resetting gaps according to the manufacturers’ instructions, labelling and refitting various parts, and bleeding the braking system. 

Winners had a chance to participate in the finals, which took place at HTS Louis Botha in Louis Botha in Bloemfontein. The four-day event saw students showing off their skills in the fields of welding, plumbing, power systems, electronics, automotive, construction as well as woodworking. 

The event organisers extended their thanks to all facilitators, mentors and teachers from HTS Welkom, Iketsetseng CSS, Hodisa Secondary Technical School, Bethlehem Voortrekker Hoerskool, HTS Sasolburg, HTS Louis Botha, Bethlehem CSS, Lenyora la Thuto Technical School, Ficksburg High School, and Koffiefontein CSS.

Thanks also went to event sponsors – including primary sponsor Sasol, Plumblink, IOPSA, Dutton Plastics, Spargo MICA, Seebox, CS Electrical Training Centre, Gryffen Dynamics, SA Truck Bodies, Educatory Electro Services, Gondolier, and RMI/MIWA – who lent their all-important support in the form of tools, knowledge, training venues and even scholarships to the winners. A big thanks to Sasol for being the main financial sponsor for the event. Without these sponsors the event would not have been possible.

Our hearty congratulations to the winners of the automotive section – Jacques Smit of HTS Sasolburg, Unathi Khula of HTS Welkom, and Phillip Cronje of Bethlehem Voortrekker Hoerskool – who proved their skills in removing and re-torquing a cylinder head in the correct sequence, setting wheel-bearing pre-load, and removing and refitting crank and main bearing. Each took home a set of tools to get them started on their satisfying and rewarding careers.

We believe initiatives such as this play a crucial role in exposing young people to our field and are therefore integral to ensuring ongoing success.